top of page

View the list of essential services at Level 5

From Department of the Taoiseach 

Published at 14 October 2020

Last updated 23 October 2020


1. Agriculture, horticulture, forestry, fishing, animal welfare and related services

2. Manufacturing

3. Supply, repair and installation of machinery and equipment

4. Electricity, gas, water, sewage and waste management

5. Construction and development

6. Wholesale and retail trade

7. Transport, storage and communications

8. Accommodation and food services

9. Information and communications

10. Financial and legal activities

11. Professional, scientific and technical activities

12. Rental and leasing activities

13. Administrative and support activities

14. Public administration, emergency services and defence

15. Human health and social work activities

16. Education

17. Community and voluntary services

18. Diplomatic missions and consular affairs



This list applies for Level 5 only.

Physical attendance at workplaces is only permitted for those providing the following services where such services can only be provided in person and cannot be delivered remotely. It does not include administrative and other support for such businesses and services unless specified in section 13 and the physical presence of a worker is required.

bottom of page